BRICS invites six countries including Saudi Arabia, Iran to be new members

South Africa prepares to host the BRICS Summit 2023, in Johannesburg

A person walks past the Sandton Convention Centre, which will host the upcoming BRICS Summit, in Johannesburg, South Africa August 19, 2023. REUTERS/James Oatway/File Photo Acquire Licensing Rights

JOHANNESBURG, Aug 24 (Reuters) – The BRICS group of nations has decided to invite six countries – Argentina, Egypt, Iran, Ethiopia, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates – to become new members of the bloc, South African President Cyril Ramaphosa said on Thursday.

The debate over expanding the BRICS bloc, comprising Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa, has topped the agenda at a three-day summit in Johannesburg ending on Thursday.

While all BRICS members have publicly expressed support for growing the bloc, there were divisions among the leaders over how much and how quickly.

Reporting by Bhargav Acharya, Carien du Plessis and Anait Miridzhanian
Editing by Alexander Winning

Our Standards: The Thomson Reuters Trust Principles.

Acquire Licensing Rights, opens new tab

Source link

Leave a Comment